• Welcome to the Off-Topic/Schweb's Lounge

In addition to the Mac-Forums Community Guidelines, there are a few things you should pay attention to while in The Lounge.

Lounge Rules
    • If your post belongs in a different forum, please post it there.
    • While this area is for off-topic conversations, that doesn't mean that every conversation will be permitted. The moderators will, at their sole discretion, close or delete any threads which do not serve a beneficial purpose to the community.

Understand that while The Lounge is here as a place to relax and discuss random topics, that doesn't mean we will allow any topic. Topics which are inflammatory, hurtful, or otherwise clash with our Mac-Forums Community Guidelines will be removed.

What should an aspiring iOS app developer buy?

Reaction score
Hi all,

To put the subject in context, I'm a programmer looking to try my hand at developing apps for iPhone and iPad (both of which I own and love). However I only have a PC and so cannot use Xcode. I understand it is possible to emulate the Mac (to some extent) using Virtualbox or some such piece of kit but I don't want to go down that route.

Since my ancient PC (with which I am quite content since it runs my development environments and favourite games quite happily) would cost so much to upgrade to meet the needs of running two operating systems and process sets at the same time, I figure I may as well own an actual Mac.

What I need is some Apple machine, which can run the latest version of Xcode and whatever version of OSX is prerequisite for this (10.6.3 or later I think), at the lowest possible price / specification. I dont care whether it is a desktop, laptop or space saver.

Basically, I want the cheapest Apple machine I can find to develop for current iOS devices. Any advice would be appreciated.

:Blushing:

Raz0rEdge

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2022 Mac Studio M1 Max, 2023 M2 MBA