Which Mac Option should i go with

Reaction score
Ok, so i selling my PC and moving back to macs, i had a 2011 Macbook pro (loved it) but i started playing games again so i went back to a PC. My main use if daily use, school work and editing videos from my gopro 3 black. I am wondering what i should look at getting for video editing as i know if it can edit video i will be ok for my other purposes.

My budget is going to be no more than $1000 and yes i know this is small but i think it can be done.

I am realistically looking at an upgraded mac mini, or a used imac. I do not want a laptop as they are something i don't prefer to use. I have a nice Monitor so that isn't an issue if i went the mac mini route.

My question is what should i look for and what is going to be able to handle gopro videos the best. I dont need something that is crazy powerful but i do need something that will get the job done. I plan on using final cut or just imovie as i wont be making in theater quality movies.

Any suggestions or advice would be great.

Raz0rEdge

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2022 Mac Studio M1 Max, 2023 M2 MBA
Welcome to Mac-forums..

With that budget and your need for a desktop as opposed to a laptop, the latest Mac Mini is a perfect fit for you. I would recommend the $799 i7 model and you can upgrade it to the 2.6 Ghz for $100. So at $899 you have a nice machine for your needs. I wouldn't upgrade the memory through Apple, but would recommend that you purchase it through Crucial or OWC and do the install (very easy) yourself..

Another upgrade option down the line is to upgrade the HDD to a SSD by yourself, but again that can wait, it doesn't have to happen immediately..

I would not necessarily go for an iMac because at the $1000 limit, you're looking at the 21.5" version and a few years older meaning likely an i5 processor. You get MUCH more bang for your buck with the newest Mac Mini with all the upgrades it brings along..

OP
M
Reaction score