Help with Powerbook G4 upgrading

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2023-14" M3max MBPro, 64GB/1TB, iPhone 15 Pro, Watch Ultra
Good Day to All!

I currently work as an IT/video editor/graphic designer. In a previous life I was a vocational/computer teacher. Up until about 8 months ago, I had never owned a Mac. Now I have two and love them. Anyway…..

I have a young man who I mentor at work. He is in the 8th grade and his school offers no computer classes, which is his first love. As a favor to his parents, and because I like him, I am working with him after school. Because of my interest in learning about Mac’s, he has developed an interest.

Last month he purchase 4 Powerbook G4’s - 2 - 12” and 2 - 15”. They would turn on but that was all, no hard drives, and one 12” was really rough. We have been learning a lot together getting them up and running. We now have one 12” and one 15” running Leopard. Should be able to get the other 15” going soon.

Here is my question - is there anyway the AirPort Extreme card in the 12” be upgraded? It is an 802.11g and we would like to upgrade it to an 802.11n. From what I am reading Leopard will support 802.11n. I guess I am just checking or looking for any ideas anyone may have.

Lisa

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
Here is my question - is there anyway the AirPort Extreme card in the 12” be upgraded? It is an 802.11g and we would like to upgrade it to an 802.11n. From what I am reading Leopard will support 802.11n. I guess I am just checking or looking for any ideas anyone may have.

Sorry...no Powerbook G4 supported wireless "n" (from an internal hardware perspective).

- Nick

OP
lclev
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Thanks Nick,