iPad Default browser won't default

Reaction score
I am completely new to my iPad but regular user of PC & Macbook.
I have tried to set default browser on iPad to Google, and as far as I can see that is set properly in Safari preferences, yet whenever I access Safari it defaults to Yahoo or gives a choice of four different browsers.
Where am I going wrong if Google is definitely set in preferences?.

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
I moved your post here to the correct forum which concerns the iPad and also edited your title for clarity.

What exactly are you trying to setup as the default, the iPad browser or search engine? You seem to be saying you're trying to setup Google as the default browser on the iPad and you also mention Yahoo. Google and Yahoo are search engines not browsers. Safari is a browser.

So what is it you're trying to do?

OP
E
Reaction score
Grateful thanks, chscag, for moving my thread to the correct slot.
I guess I am having difficulty switching between conventional PC or Mac to iPad, hence my confusion between browsers and search engines. What I want to happen is that when I touch the Safari icon a "home" screen (or iPad equivalent) is automatically presented as the Google search box (as at Google).
Richard

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey