Good OCR Program for OSX?

Reaction score
Hi Mac-Forums,

I just wanted to know what the best and most friendly priced app for OCR on OSX is.

Basically I need to edit scanned documents which show up as images for various reasons but I wouldnt know were to start on looking for a OCR program on OSX as I am only new to the OS.

The app needs to recognize the text from which is scanned then be able to edit it via the scanned document.

Appreciate your help guys!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
21" iMac 2.9Ghz 16GB RAM - 10.11.3, iPhone6s & iPad Air 2 - iOS 9.2.1, ATV 4Th Gen tvOS, ATV3
You can't go past Smile Softwares PDF Pen 6 . . . It also has a iOS App to complement it. You will be paying for quality and with PDF Pen you are. I have never come across such a powerful program as this, and its quick, as well.
PDF Pen ~ $59.95
PDF Pen Pro 6 ~ $99.95
PDF Pen iPad ~ $14.95

I can't recommend these products enough. It will take some getting use to with the Pro 6 version, but as i said, its a powerful App. Then again, i have found i can do a lot with the PDF Pen for iPad as well. I usually, start out on the iPad, then use iCloud to have them waiting on my Mac and away i go. Brilliant !!!! ;)

One thing, is if you get the iPad version, its worth every cent, but invest in a Stylus as well. I have the Adonit ~ Jot Touch 4 and works a treat when it comes to signing the document at the end of it all. You can scribble, doodle and do what ever you need, if its a edit and re-write for someone else.
As i said, well worth the investment, and you will wonder how you worked without it, once you get it :) and by no way am I affiliated with Smile, having the PDFScan+ and Text Expander for Mac and iOS too.