Ripping music from stereo amp to iMac

Reaction score
I've purchased an imic as a LINE IN for my iMac so I can feed audio from my stereo amp to the computer for ripping. Is there a simple piece of software (such as Musicmatch jukebox which i used on my old PC) for capturing and storing the ripped music. I'm a total novice, so please start with basics. On a recommendation, I downloaded Audacity but so far am overwhelmed with it and haven't gotten to first base. Help.

C

chas_m

Can you describe with a little more detail what exactly you are wanting to accomplish? For example, I use an iMic to convert cassette tapes of my old radio show to digital files for (eventually) turning into a podcast.

Audacity is an audio editing program that can do capture, but perhaps this is overkill for what you're doing? If so, take a look at Piezo or Audio Hijack Pro from Rogue Amoeba. There are free trials to check em out -- they can basically be directed to record input or system audio or audio from a specific application, using Soundflower as a core.

OP
MACGEM
Reaction score
Thanks chas_m,
I think you're right about Audacity being overkill for what I'm trying to do. Instructions for using it are full of technical terms I know nothing about.