Can't play MIDI files

Reaction score
I have a Mac OS 10.7.5.

I cannot play MIDI files -- I've downloaded Quicktime 7 into Applications/Utility folder, but still -- NOTHING! I'm a novice at this… can anyone walk me through this please?? Thank you!!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Air M2 ('22) OS 14.3; M3 iMac ('23) OS 14.3; iPad Pro; iPhone 14
Hi Eperon - welcome to the the forum! :)

Not sure that I can help and would be curious myself on how to play MIDI files on a Mac - but the native Quick Time Player does not seem to support the audio format (see chart below from HERE); also I just took a look @ Quick Time on my MBPro (OS 10.9.1) and there is no help information on Midi nor a selection to add some type of plugin.

Now there are a number of MIDI players offered in the MAS (Mac App Store) and I'm sure a number doing an online search that may not be in the store. Hopefully others w/ more experience will 'chime in' w/ some suggestions - I've only used MIDI on an older PC for my wife's keyboard. Good luck - Dave :)

Screen Shot 2013-12-29 at 12.15.03 PM.png

dtravis7

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
Interesting. I have many MIDI files on my old web page that I made back in the day and they all play fine in older Quicktime 7 here. Some sound a bit different than on a Windows system because the Midi sounds are a bit different but they still sound ok. I am quite sure my friends Midi's that he makes play here also. Will check that later and report back. Not sure what is going on.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs