Remote desktop access from Macbook Air

Reaction score
I am trying to remotely access my windows PC at work from my macbook air. How do I do that? I know that the work PC is configured to accept remote access. What do I need to do on this end?

OP
D
Reaction score
I neglected to mention that I am in Canada. I can't seem to get this app in the Canadian store. Any suggestions?

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Try CORd, it's a free download and should work even better than the MS RD application. Download from here.

OP
D
Reaction score
So I think I downloaded Cord. (I'm new at this Mac thing, only have it 2 days...) Now what do I do?

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
If you're new to the Mac platform, perhaps you should learn Mac OS X before deciding on using a remote desktop application? Since Cord is free and open source, there's really not much formal help available but what there is, you can find on their support site here.

OP
D
Reaction score
I need to be able to access my work computer from home. That's why I need the Cord. I'm just not sure that I actually downloaded anything when I tried to download Cord since the file looks empty. The icon is now at the bottom of my screen, but if I click on it, it is empty. Is that the way it is supposed to be?

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
I need to be able to access my work computer from home. That's why I need the Cord. I'm just not sure that I actually downloaded anything when I tried to download Cord since the file looks empty. The icon is now at the bottom of my screen, but if I click on it, it is empty. Is that the way it is supposed to be?