OSx freezing up

Reaction score
I am new to mac pretty much, I do computer repair on mainly windows pcs, but just had a customer with a mac ask if I could take a shot at fixing her mac. Her complaint was how tremendously slow it was, and that she was having problems with various programs crashing, etc. So my intention was to clean the machine with some suggested free mac cleaner software. I also suspect possible spyware/malware or viruses to be the cause. It takes literally 10 minutes for this to even boot into the desktop, and after it finally does, Its almost frozen up completely. I suspect a possible hard drive issue, or virus at this time, but cannot install or scan any programs because of the lockup. I have successfully booted into safe mode (after 4 failed attempts) and can work around in the machine. If someone can suggest some options at this point. Just to clarify in short, the mac is running insanely slow, almost to a halt. I cannot work with the computer in regular mode at all. Finally was able to boot into safe mode successfully and am now looking into what options I have. Finally I am a windows pc tech, not much experience with macs.

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
As a PC tech you're probably used to receiving Windows boxes that are infected with viruses and malware. However, Macs do not get viruses as there are none in the wild that can infect a Mac. There are some forms of Malware but generally if she's up to date with her software from Apple, you can rule that out as causing the slow down.

Your suspicion that the hard drive may be failing is probably on target especially since it took you that many tries to get it into safe mode. You didn't mention which Mac she has, model and year, and also what version of OS X it's running. Without that info it's difficult to help you trouble shoot the machine.