System Restore

Reaction score
I have Mavericks OSX 10.9
Can any one please tell me if a Mac Computer has a System Restore. That is to restore the computer back to how it was a couple of days ago.
I have inadvertently trashed years of photos from my iPhoto program.
I would have thought my external time machine would have them but they seem to be unavailable.
I can access everything ells but not iPhotos.

M

MacInWin

TimeMachine is the default backup system. No System Restore. I'm not an iPhoto expert, but as I understand, the photos in iPhoto are actually stored in a database, not as individual files, so if you are searching for them on TM by the filenames, then you may not find them. Perhaps an iPhoto expert can chime in here for you.

One thing: for now the LESS you do to the drive the more likely you can recover.

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
There is no System Restore in Mac OS X. If you've been making full Time Machine backups automatically, then your photos should have been backed up. Remember, the photos are all contained within your photo library if you were using iPhoto. Did you try to find your iPhoto library from the Time Machine backups you have?

OP
M
Reaction score
Thanks for the quick response guys. As I have said when I go into Time Machine only todays page is available previous days seem to be inaccessible. Anything ells to access like mail and documents no problem.
O woe is me.

OP
M
Reaction score
P.S.
I have a memory stick with a lot of the photos,not all. Can you explain how to download these from the memory stick. Once there on the desktop is it a matter of just dragging and dropping into iPhoto or is there an easier way.

M

MacInWin