The best macbook for a software engineering student?

Reaction score
Hi everyone

I’m planning to get a macbook, but I’m in doubt between the following models (both with a 4 GB ram and 128 GB storage):

1. Macbook Pro (late 2013) with the CPU 2.4GHz dual-core Intel Core i5
  2. Macbook Air (2013) with the CPU 1.7GHz dual-core Intel Core i7

I’m a software engineering student, and I do stuff like programming with MATLAB and Java. Thus speed (performance) is the most important factor for me. The second factor is weight, as I’ll have to bring it to uni every day. Screen resolution and battery life are unimportant.

What confuses me the most is that the Pro has a higher clock speed, but it’s a lower model (i5 versus the Air’s i7).

I would be very thankful if you helped me choose the best one.

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
What confuses me the most is that the Pro has a higher clock speed, but it’s a lower model (i5 versus the Air’s i7).

You can upgrade the cpu to an i7. I would also upgrade the ram. 4gig may not be enough...and ram is not upgradeable after configuration & purchase.

- Nick

OP
B
Reaction score
You can upgrade the cpu to an i7. I would also upgrade the ram. 4gig may not be enough...and ram is not upgradeable after configuration & purchase.

- Nick
Thanks.

Unfortunately I actually cannot spend more than that. The most expensive thing that I can afford is Macbook Pro late 2013, basic configuration.

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Thanks.

Unfortunately I actually cannot spend more than that. The most expensive thing that I can afford is Macbook Pro late 2013, basic configuration.

Yes...that's the way it goes sometimes! But I would strongly recommend doing at least the ram upgrade. Extra $100 I believe.

I would also recommend checking out the refurbished area. Save a couple hundred.:)

This may interest you: