NAS Drive

Reaction score
Hi

I'm after a bit of advice on a NAS drive.

I seem to be going in circles as I'm not technically minded.

What prompted me to look into a NAS drive was my USB WD Drive became full and Time Machine was unable to back up.

I'm after something that will work with my iMac, iPad, iPhones, Android and Windows devices too.

I've heard good things about Synology.

How do these multiple bay units work? Do you use one hard drive and then once that is full, the other gets used or does both get used together just in case one fails, you don't lose all the data?

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!!

Raz0rEdge

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2022 Mac Studio M1 Max, 2023 M2 MBA
Welcome to Mac-Forums..

NAS (Network Attached Storage) is a generic term used to refer to any storage media that is accessible over the network. Usually, the devices you buy are multi-bay and use some sort of RAID (Redundant Array of Inexpensive Disks) to keep your data safe.

There are varying levels of RAID that employ things like mirroring, striping, or a combination of the two depending on the number of disks you have..

If you have a 4-drive unit, for example, you would use the storage space from 3 disks while the 4th would be your sanity disk to keep the data across the other 3 intact..

The beauty of RAIDs is that if a single disk fails, you can always just swap that one out without affecting the entire system or losing data..

In addition to providing the nice backup solution, NAS' also provide other functionality like the ability to stream audio/video and so on..

Synology makes some very nice NAS'. I currently have a Netgear ReadyNAS that is working pretty well.