Connecting a MacBook Pro to Cinema Display

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac (retina 5K), 27" 2019
I am at a cross roads with my technology. I do graphic design and I am a photographer. I have had the luxury of a good MacBook Pro laptop, a Desktop Mac Pro with Cinema Display and a portable tablet. I am now rationalising. The MBP died and my Mac Pro is 6 years old. I have looked at the option of updating the Mac Pro with an increased 8GB of Ram and updating the OS to accomodate CS6, which will replace my current CS3. The question I am throwing out to the forum is whether I would be better off updating my Mac Pro, squeeze another 2-3 years out of it, or just replace it with a MacBook Pro and connect it up to my Cinema Display, assuming of course I can connect a relatively new MBP to my 6 year old CD. I need a big display for the graphics work and colour work I do with photographs, so just having a laptop is not an option.
Your opinions would be appreciated

Reaction score
I am at a cross roads with my technology. I do graphic design and I am a photographer. I have had the luxury of a good MacBook Pro laptop, a Desktop Mac Pro with Cinema Display and a portable tablet. I am now rationalising. The MBP died and my Mac Pro is 6 years old. I have looked at the option of updating the Mac Pro with an increased 8GB of Ram and updating the OS to accomodate CS6, which will replace my current CS3. The question I am throwing out to the forum is whether I would be better off updating my Mac Pro, squeeze another 2-3 years out of it, or just replace it with a MacBook Pro and connect it up to my Cinema Display, assuming of course I can connect a relatively new MBP to my 6 year old CD. I need a big display for the graphics work and colour work I do with photographs, so just having a laptop is not an option.
Your opinions would be appreciated

my professional opinion (worth about what you've paid for it):

1. it's your professional tool. Make sure you keep it up.