Need this in English

Reaction score
Hi all, I have had this post below sent to me and I would like to see if any of you could put this in plain English for me:Blushing: As I am still learning and the person who wrote it is rather rude! So I thought I would come where all the friendly people are or help;)
Cheers wemac :)
I'm sure most of the bugs and irritating problems will get sorted out eventually. After all, this is version 0 of a major software update, with most of the changes taking place 'under the hood' for speed and battery life improvements.

I have to say that I find that Ted Landau article totally complacent and lazy, as there is a VERY serious problem with data loss on external Western Digital (WD) and others when Mavericks is installed. WD has emailed everyone they have records of to tell them to uninstall it (whilst simultaneously removing from their website so you can't download the uninstaller!)

It seems that the WD software (The WD Drive Manager, WD Raid Manager, and WD SmartWare software) is probably the cause of many individuals and companies losing Tb's of data and backups. If the software is installed, and you need to install the WD RAID Manager to change a WD Studio II drive from RAID 0 to RAID 1 (mirrored), then as soon as you upgrade to mavericks you run a very real risk of your data being wiped from your external drives.

So, if you have the WD software installed and you upgrade to Mavericks, your external WD drive could get wiped anytime in the next few days. Not only branded WD drives are at risk, as reports on the Apple Support Forum, the WD support Forum and other places of G-TECH (Hitachi, who are owned by WD) LaCie, Promise RAID and even Seagate drives being wiped have been coming in since Mavericks Golden Master (GM) was issued nearly five weeks ago. It may also be affecting bare WD drives in external cases with other branding on them, as WD is one of the two companies that still make the hard drive mechanisms.