How to link laptop with desktop mac

Reaction score
I'm a web designer with my own business and I have been using a MacBook Pro for nearly 3 years now, and would now like to progress to a desktop. The reason I went for a laptop initially is because I'm occassionally with clients and need something portable. My dilemma is that I still need this portability, but I want to work on a widescreen desktop when I'm at my office, as it'd be much easier to design on and better for posture and eyes etc.
But I need a way to link together my laptop with my desktop, so that if I need to work at a client's workplace, then I can just unplug and go. Obviously the problems arise because of my email (set up on Outlook on my laptop) and all the hundreds of files that I'll need both on my laptop and desktop.
There must be a solution that means I can unplug and just go when needs be?
Have been to the Apple Store, but didn't really get a good answer...

Any advice would be appreciated!

Thanks

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini i5 (2014 High Sierra), iPhone X, Apple Watch, iPad Pro 12.9, AppleTV (4)
There are several ways to share/sync files between two machines. However, from what you've described I'd suggest the best solution would be to get an external mouse, keyboard and screen that you connect your MBP to in the office then just take the MBP with you to clients etc.

OP
L
Reaction score
Yes I had considered that, but my laptop is also starting to run a bit slow, so I'd prefer if I didn't have to continue to rely on it's speed etc...

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini i5 (2014 High Sierra), iPhone X, Apple Watch, iPad Pro 12.9, AppleTV (4)
From what you've described I'd get a screen etc and a new MBP tbh.

But if you want to go down the syncing route there are cloud based solutions like Dropbox, Google Drive, Sky drive etc. Or you could opt for a network sync and use a tool like SyncMate or similar to manage shared files and folders between two devices.