Macbook Pro 13" late 2013 Vs MacBook Air 13" 2013

Reaction score
I am a College Student studying Computer Engingeering

i just wanted to know if there is much difference with Iris and HD 5000 graphics…

The Two models That i am stuck between buying is

1)MacBook Pro 13″
2.4GHz Dual-core Intel Core i5, Turbo Boost up to 2.9GHz
8GB 1600MHz DDR3L SDRAM
256GB PCIe-based Flash Storage
Apple USB SuperDrive
Backlit Keyboard (English) & User’s Guide
Mini DisplayPort to VGA Adapter
Priced $1607

2)MacBook Air 13″
1.7GHz Dual-Core Intel Core i7, Turbo Boost up to 3.3GHz
8GB 1600MHz LPDDR3 SDRAM
256GB Flash Storage
Apple USB SuperDrive
Backlit Keyboard (English) & User’s Guide
Mini DisplayPort to VGA Adapter
Priced $1657

Which one is better choice… Btw i live in Nepal where there are a lot of powercuts…
Thanks

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
The MacBook Pro is upgradeable whereas the MacBook Air is not. Of course since you're living in Nepal you may not have access to Mac upgrades anyway. Iris graphics are newer and supposedly faster than the Intel HD 5000.

If power is a problem in Nepal, I suggest purchasing a good quality line leveling UPS to go along with your new Mac.

OP
Reaction score
The MacBook Pro is upgradeable whereas the MacBook Air is not. Of course since you're living in Nepal you may not have access to Mac upgrades anyway. Iris graphics are newer and supposedly faster than the Intel HD 5000.

If power is a problem in Nepal, I suggest purchasing a good quality line leveling UPS to go along with your new Mac.
I thought MAc book pro retina is non upgradable...!!
I am very confused..!!! whether to go for Better display or better battery life..

Plus whats the difference between to i7 1.7Ghz and i5 2.4 GHz .. which one is better?

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs