Which fits my needs best

W

wildwobby

Ok,

I used to build my own PCs at home. But I've decided i'm fed up with microsoft, and really do like apple's OS. So, I decied, if i was going to make a change in operating systems. Now was the time. I have decided on a Mac Book Pro. As you could imagine switching was a big decision for me!

Anyways, I am a photographer (not pro) but own a Canon 20D DSLR. So I do run photoshop with big files.... sometimes in excess of 100Mbs (ones with a lot of layers... or 32bit). But for the most part they are 5-20 Mbs. I use photoshop CS2 and know that it will work emulated until "CS2" most probably.

So on to physical hardware.

A1) Is the 1.83GHZ a big advantage over 1.67GHZ?

A2) Is it worth it?

B) If i were to go with the 1.83, should I have 1gb (512x2), or just one stick. I know that in PCs, sometimes two sticks are better because they can dual-channel. Does this apply to Macs too? Or would 1Gb be enough probably through out the ownership of this macbook pro.

C) How is the color? This question is more aimed at other photographers, but, are the colors on the screen preaty accurate?

Any other info is appreciated!

Thanks!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Dual 1.8GHz Power Mac G5; 1GB SDRAM; 160GB Serial ATA; 20 inch Cinema Display
Wait a bit on the MacBook Pros. Not the best thing for Photographers.

If you process your photos digitally and use PhotoShop CS2 I wouldn't bother one bit with a MacBook Pro. Although emulated through Rosetta (sp) it will be extremely slow to do many simple tasks in PSCS2. In my opinion I would really hold off on the MacBook Pro until later versions. Or go for another type of Mac.

Adobe will not be making a "Universal" version either. They're going to wait until they're ready to release a new version.

There's an article in the latest (March) Macworld magazine titled "The Intel Mac FAQ" which may be helpful. I would check that out.