12" HDD half gone with OS install

B

blokie

okay i just bought the girlfriend a 12" ibook for school and pulled it out of the box, installed office x and browsing around as I'm a newbie to mac myself I noticed that there's only 23.7gb of HDD left out of 40. And honestly those are they only two things she has on her computer cuz I just recieved it yesterday and I'm not trying to sugar coat this but I'm seriously disappointed if that's the case. I'm shocked that an OS is THAT BIG. Not that I acutally think its that big but how can one check to see if its the proper size HDD?

oh and secondly, her sisters' ex was telling her to install firefox. What is the hype behind this firefox browser? Everyone I ask who used it for PC and this dude for the mac, couldn't give me an answer other than "its the best browser out there" yet no concrete answer as to why one should switch. So I thought I'd ask the mac pro's (you guys).

Thanks.

OP
R

radarbob

The OS is not "THAT" big. The mac I'm typing on is using under 9GB for OS X, MS Office, and some other miscellaneous programs, and of course the files we've created.

First a 40GB drive does not have 40GB of usable space. My 20GB drive for example has 18.63GB of usable space. I'll guess your drive has 37GB usable.

Click the apple menu, click "about this Mac", from that pop up click "more info...". This will launch System Profiler. When that comes up click on "ATA" and you will see more info about your drive than you'll understand.

I suggest a clean reinstall. During install keep an eye out for a button for customizing the install. You will be able to uncheck all the languages that you don't use and save hundreds of megabytes in space. If you installed the developer's tools, don't reinstall it. You don't need that unless you write programs for the Mac.

MS Office also has several options during install that I imagine makes a few megabytes difference.