Converting PDF to JPEG on Mac for book editing

Reaction score
I just upgraded my IMac to OSX 10.6.8, purchased 2007, I am an author and need to rewrite my book and update, its in PDF format from my previous PC, need to cnvert and editenot lose content and add stuff, how do I do that?

OP
G
Reaction score
post #63

I received your reply, how do I install the bash item you suggest?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Early 2015 13"MBA 2.2GHz i7, 8GB RAM, OS X 10.11.6
Whoa, that is an intensely hardcore solution, gsahli. There is an easier way. Just open your file in Preview and hit Export from the File menu. There you'll find an option to convert your file to JPEG.

If I read your OP right that's what you want to do, correct? Preview has been able to convert file formats for as long as I've been acquainted with Macs, so it should be available in your legacy version, as well. Apologies if I'm wrong. If that's the case carry on and I hope you find a good solution...

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
late 2012 mini w/SSD
I think he wants a solution that creates individual pages from a book.
I don't know, maybe Preview will do it -- never tried a multi-page pdf.

grouston - you need to install Apple's XCode development system, then run the commands, as shown, in Terminal to install ImageMagic. (you may have to register as a developer to download XCode):
https://developer.apple.com/technologies/tools/

C

chas_m

I just upgraded my IMac to OSX 10.6.8, purchased 2007, I am an author and need to rewrite my book and update, its in PDF format from my previous PC, need to cnvert and editenot lose content and add stuff, how do I do that?

I am a little unclear on how converting your book to JPG will help you in any way at all.