free desktop publishing software?

Reaction score
So I'm new to Macs and, to tell you the truth, rather new to the whole computer thing, because I'm old ; ) My faith community is trying to start a printed newsletter, and we are looking for free (as we are poor) desktop publishing software for Mac, as we only have Macs among us. I've seen Scribus but it says it has a steep learning curve which would be hard for us. The newsletter is just going to be pretty simple, with articles and photos, I don't suppose a newsletter can be that complex anyway. What is the best free (or maybe under $50) software that will not be too hard to learn? We want to make sure to download legally, so we are not looking to pirate anything. Any advice would be gratefully received. Thank you!

vansmith

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mini (2014, 2018, 2020), MBA (2020), iPad Pro (2018), iPhone 13 Pro Max, Watch (S6)
If it's a simple newsletter and you've got $15 to spare, Pages (as Raz0r recommended) is probably a good bet. It's better at this type of thing than any other word processor and it's fairly cheap.

OP
D
Reaction score
using Pages to create a newsletter

Hi! I've just been advised elsewhere on this forum, to use Pages to create a print newsletter. I looked at a couple YouTube tutorials and I have a question. (besides, of course, do you think this is good software for a newsletter?) Do I have to type the articles in the actual template, or can I import a file containing the article, the same way I can import a photo? Sorry I'm kinda new to computers, need to ask very simple questions. Thanks!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini Core i7 2012 | White 2009 MacBook 2 Ghz | 733 Mhz G4 Quicksilver
You just copy paste the articles, not import them

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
Threads merged (same topic). Thread also moved to better sub-forum (OS X - Apps).

- Nick

C

chas_m