Upgrading OS on old macbook

Reaction score
I've got an old macbook, the first aluminum model, about 5 years old.

My question is, should I upgrade the OS.
I've never done that before and have traumatic flashbacks of doing that on window machines, taking a loong time, nothing working afterwards and in some cases losing a lot of files, settings, etc.
I'm just a bit paranoid about something like that going wrong.
Can it go wrong?
Anyone had catastrophic accidents because of trying to upgrade the OS?

Another problem is, the CD rom player does not work and I heard you may have to get a cd to do this stuff, so if I can't download the new OS, I probably can't upgrade, at all. :(

I know, I probably just should get a new one, who knows, maybe father Christmas can help me with that.
But maybe not.

So in short; can I upgrade from 10.5.8 to a newer, better OS and can I do this via download in stead of some cd?

Rod

Reaction score
Melbourne, Australia and Ubud, Bali, Indonesia
Your Mac's Specs
2021 M1 MacBook Pro 14" macOS 14.4.1, Mid 2010MacBook 13" iPhone 13 Pro max, iPad 6, Apple Watch SE.
You are right about the disk problem, you can order 10.6.8 from apple as a DVD around $19.00 but if you cant use your CD player this will be problematic.

I would suggest however that you first do a backup of your hard drive to an external source, just in case.

I would not suggest upgrading from Snow Leopard to say Mountain Lion on your laptop without first checking on line for compatability with your model. Snow Leopard is a great OS in my opinion and my son who is s sound engineer is still using it. Good luck.

C

chas_m

It's not that problematic, a USB2 burner should cost about $30 or so. I've been using external burners for years because of the convenience, cost to replace/fix and other reasons.

That laptop you're referring to is probably from 2008 IIRC. Snow Leopard is probably the ideal OS for it, because as I recall it can't be upgraded on RAM very far.

chscag

Staff member