Where did my hard drive space go?

Reaction score
Hi there!

This is my first time posting on MacForums, so please bear with me :)

I recently decided that I should delete some extraneous files from my mac, which has 251 available gigabytes of space (it's the SSD model), and is running 10.8.2. I'm not sure of the exact make of the laptop, but it's in the style of the new-ish aluminum unibody macbook pros, in the 13 inch size.

Anyway, I went to my Macintosh HD, which said that there are only 10 GB available. I went through all the items in the Macintosh HD folder (Applications, Library, Null, Opt, System, Users) and did the command-i thing for all of them. However, the sum total of how much space they take up is about 120 GB, or half of what my Mac said was being used.

Do any of you know why this might be? What could be using up all of that space?

Thanks so much!

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
...did the command-i thing for all of them.

Do the "command-i thing" on the hard drive icon on the desktop. What numbers do you get?

- Nick

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
09 MBP 8GB ram 500GB HD OS 10.9 32B iPad 4 32GB iPhone 5 iOs7 2TB TC Apple TV3
I wonder do you have Time Machine enabled but no external drive is attached that will kill HD space over time.

OP
R
Reaction score
Thanks for your responses.

@pigoo3 - My Macintosh HD is showing Capacity: 240.14 GB and Available: 11.8 GB

@OSXX - I do use Time Machine, but it's set up only to work with an external drive. Sounds like it might be the issue, so I'll investigate further and make sure Time Machine is actually set up the way I want it.

Once again, thanks!

Slydude

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
M1 MacMini 16 GB - Ventura, iPhone 14 Pro Max, 2015 iMac 16 GB Monterey