Just switched from Windows

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBA mid-2013 (10.12.4), iPad 5th gen (10.3.1)
Hi, this is my first post in this forum. So hi all :)

I was a proud owner of a great desktop machine with Windows on it. I decided that I should get a 13" notebook (my original purpose was to get a new ultrabook) and get rid of my beloved desktop because a) I travel a lot, and I needed a computer with me to work (freelance translator), b) I am also a student and a student moves his house frequently in my country. It was nice but also it was more than 10 kg.

So anyway, I went to a store to get an ultrabook. But saw this one (Mid-2013 Macbook Air) and just got it. It is lovely and its battery is still 22% after 2 complete days. I think I used it more than 6 hours actively now.

I want to know some stuff about my new computer. I'll probably come up with more questions but to keep it short, I'll just ask the ones that bug me most.

1- I used to have a BIOS (well it's EFI now) but I don't have one now. How do I get to my computer's BIOS? In case I wanted to boot it with a USB stick. Or maybe fine-tune it at a later time.

2- I wasn't handed a MacOS X disc and it seems I don't have a bootable rescue partition. I heard that Macs are tougher than Windows to break bad enough to need a rescue or a fresh install, but I want to know what my options are here. And to be honest, I wanted to create a couple of backup discs for the OS but... You know, I don't know if it is doable and if it is, how.

3- What free apps should I install to get the most out of Mac? I work with clients who need/demand full MS Office compatibility, I love music (both listening to and making), I love watching movies (seems like a candidate regret for getting a 13" computer), I don't have any other Apple product and not considering getting one in the foreseeable future.