iPhoto won't import.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac: 5K 27” (2020), 3.3 GHz, 32Gb RAM. iPad2, iPad mini4, iPhone 13 Mini, Apple Watch SE
I'm going to word this query very carefully as in my searches so far the replies to similar queries all assume that the OP is taking about not being able to view images that they have previously imported or think they have imported to iPhoto. So to be clear this query DOES NOT relate to any photos already in iPhoto (which I have been using since 2007 BTW).

I'm trying to import newly taken images to iPhoto. I first used my SD card in a USB reader and subsequently have downloaded all images to a folder on my internal hard drive. I've tried dragging them from finder window to iPhoto and using iPhoto Import menu option but every time the first image appears with the message that "The volume for “DSC_xxxxJPG” cannot be found. Cancel, Find Photo or OK" Both Cancel and OK have no effect and the message is repeated until I press ESC a few times to terminate the process. I have several hundred (ok 745 to be exact) images to import so I need this to work flawlessly as it has done for the past six years. I've tried importing individually, in batches of ten as well as in total with the same error in every case.

I'm using iPhoto 08 and OSX 10.8. Photos were created by my Nikon D90 and several thousand images from this source have previously imported without a problem.

Any ideas people?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2019 iMac 27"; 2020 M1 MacBook Air; macOS up-to-date... always.
I suggest putting a different SD card in your camera; shoot a few pictures; then try to import those. If you have no issues, then the SD card you are struggling with may be defective, or the photos themselves corrupted for some reason.