Mapping a PC drive via a VPN

Joined
Jul 12, 2013
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
HI,

I wonder if anyone can help me with this. I am new to Macs.

I have set up a VPN connection to the PC server in my office but do not know how to map the drive.

I have the following batch file that did the job when I was using a PC but do not know what to enter as the server address on the iMac.

@echo off
rasdial ymc ymcvpn JulyTwenty20
if errorlevel 1 goto VPNERROR
echo VPN Connected Successfully
echo Now Attempting to map S: drive to \\serverpc\documents folder.
echo Please enter password for YMCPD and press Enter (it will not show it being typed):
net use S: \\132.168.59.200\Documents /User:serverpc\YMCPD * >nul
If errorlevel 1 goto MAPERROR
echo Drive S: Mapped Successfully
goto End
:VPNERROR
echo Sorry there was a problem connecting the VPN. Please try later.
goto End
:MAPERROR
echo Sorry there was a problem with mapping the drive. Please try disconnecting first.
:End
pause

Can anyone suggest what I can try?

Peter
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2007
Messages
8,967
Reaction score
287
Points
83
Location
London
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini Core i7 2012 | White 2009 MacBook 2 Ghz | 733 Mhz G4 Quicksilver
You cannot map a drive in that way, especially as unix does not use drive letters so e S: \\192.168.53.100\Documents means nothing to the mac os

What is the batch file trying to do, auto mount a drive on login?

Once the VPN connection is established can you see the server in the left hand column in the finder under shared (above devices)
 
OP
I
Joined
Jul 12, 2013
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
I can see "server PC" in the Finder but a connection cannot be made.

The batch file is supposed to allow login with a password.

Peter
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2007
Messages
8,967
Reaction score
287
Points
83
Location
London
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini Core i7 2012 | White 2009 MacBook 2 Ghz | 733 Mhz G4 Quicksilver
The batch file you have will only work for windows, have they given you the password and username or is the batch file supposed to automate that?
 
OP
I
Joined
Jul 12, 2013
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
The batch file is supposed to take me to the folder on the server which is accessible to me only (known as YMCPD) and I am then asked for a password (which I have).

By the way, I can no longer see the server in the Finder although it is shown as "connected".

Thanks for trying to help.

Peter
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top