Looking for some help with my ibook clamshell.

T

tinyteddy

Hi everyone, I have three questions about my ibook clamshell. I am relatively new to the Mac OS (About 3 months experience lol) I bought an iMac G5 to replace my burned out Windows Laptop, I was so impressed with the Mac OS that I decided to get a laptop for when I travel around the college. (All the computer specs are in my profile) My budget was tight, so I ended up buying a Tangerine Clamshell iBook from ebay. I've had it less than a day and I love it so far, My two questions concern expanding it:

1) I don't want to risk tampering with the already full 3 gig HD (It has Panther 10.3.9 on it), so I want to get an external HD. Since this is the original ibook it only has a USB 1 port. Can anyone recommend a decent model for me? Something in the 10gig-30gig range.

2) I want to install some programs like Microsoft Word, Itunes etc but there is only 400 mb free on the HD. Can an ibook read and use a programs like Word from an external HD? Also can ibooks use external dvd drives?

3) I want to transfer a lot of essays, mp3s etc from my iMac to the Clamshell. What's the best way to do this? Usb cables?

Thanks for your help in advance, I really appreciate it! :)

OP
J

jn4jenny

Well, I guess this doesn't quite answer your question, but definitely do some investigating in terms of how much hard drive space you can free up. This article gives some awesome tips for how to reclaim a lot of wasted space:

http://creativebits.org/2004/11/os-x-free-up-hard-disk-space.html

And to sum up that article, it's going to advise that you acquire the following free programs: DeLocalizer, Onyx or Cocktail (pick either), and iPhoto Diet, among other neat tricks to reclaim space.

After you've done that, see if GDisk might be able to help you out: http://gdisk.sourceforge.net/