Setup options for ideal communications b/t iMac, NAS, AirportExp/Ext, & TM for backup

Reaction score
I am new to networking and need some schooling! System: iMac late 2012 model, 3.2Ghz i5, 24gb RAM. Just recently purchased a LaCie 2big-NAS (running their newest 3.0 OS) and currently have the most recent model Airport Express/MC414LL/A. Current connection path: Motorola SB6121 modem-->AExpress-->LaCie NAS. I am considering upgrading to an Airport Extreme since I am experiencing very slow back up times using Time Machine to the NAS (10+ hrs), but I don't even know if this is the cause of the slow speeds. I am trying to gain a better understanding of the setup and understand if there are any benefits, and/or if I am missing a piece of the puzzle to understand how these devices work. If I replace the AExpress with an AExtreme (5th gen or the newest??) and connect the modem-->extreme-->NAS, and then also connect an ethernet cable from one of the gigibit ports on the Extreme directly to the iMac's gigabit port, will Time Machine back up faster via this connection, rather than backing up over wi-fi as it seems to be doing now? Or do the gigbit ports on the extreme only supply "internet speeds" to the iMac? Would this type of connection actually act as a "direct" connection (via gigabit) from the HD/NAS to the imac since I am technically going via the express, or will I see better performance connecting the NAS to the iMac via USB for TM backup? I also have an AppleTV (3rd gen) in one room and an older model AExpress (1st gen) plugged in to my stereo system downstairs for airplay-ing music; not sure if these devices would benefit or interfere in any sense of the matter.