Stuck on OS9 CD!

Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to MacForums and I just recently found a bunch of my old Macintosh games in a CD case. I wanted to put them in my iBook G3 Clamshell, but they wouldn't work on it because it was running Mac OS X 10.3.9 and I didn't have Classic. I got a Mac OS 9.2 CD and put it in, but it wouldn't work as a Classic hard drive. :Grimmace: So, I used XPostFacto to boot off of the CD. But then, it booted off of the CD demo and it didn't let me install it on the hard drive. I restarted the laptop, but it booted up in the CD again! I took out the disk, but it just gave me a question mark folder like, "Where's the hard drive?" instead of booting in Mac OS X. What should I do?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
To intall OS 9 the hard drive had to be set up enabling OS 9 drivers at the time of format. If this step was missed no install alas. And is the OS 9 CD a full retail install or one that came with a different computer? If the CD is okay a clean install of Panther may fix your problem.

OP
L
Reaction score
I don't really know. It says

"Mac OS 9 Featuring Sherlock 2
To start up from this CD, hold down the C key as the computer starts up.
Version 9.2.1
691-3334-A"

I got it off the internet. How can I tell if it's a full retail copy or not?

bobtomay

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
I believe the retail disc would be white and it does not say Update CD.

But, as harry noted above - you'll not be able to install OS 9 unless during the install of OS X you have it install the OS 9 drivers. If that was not done when you installed OS X, you will not be able to install OS 9.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
This seems to be what you have and if so it if the ful version:-

Mac OS 9 2 1 Original Full Install CD RARE Free Shipping | eBay