Macbook Air vs. Macbook Pro vs. iPad for an author?

Reaction score
Hello,

I hope that I am asking this question in the right section. I've never posted on a message board before - be gentle!

I have been a PC user for nearly twenty years, and have owned many desktops and laptops. Recently, my Sony Vaio died and I am considering making the move to a Mac. I'm an author who doesn't involve himself in more than word processing, surfing the web and checking e-mail when he is on a computer. With that in mind, I am wondering which Apple product I should choose that would fit my specific needs? Obviously, the bulk of use will be centered around word processing, so what would you recommend? Basically, what I'm asking is if it is worth it to spend the extra money on a Macbook Pro when my needs are simple, or would the Air do the trick? I travel a lot and the Air's lightweight construction is very attractive. The other question is if an iPad with a keyboard would do the trick just as well?

I'm not against spending money on a quality product, but I would still feel foolish spending the extra money on one model when the other model can fit my needs just fine for what I require at a lesser price. Any help is appreciated.

dtravis7

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
While it true you can get keyboards for the iPad, I would for your writing get a real computer with a real keyboard. As far as the Air Vs MBP, the Air should suffice for your writing and for sure will for internet and email. The keyboard on the air has been rated as excellent in many reviews. The MBP might be a waste of $$$ for your simple uses and you would never need is more powerful CPU or Video.