New to Mac, advice needed

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13" Macbook Pro, 2.3ghz I5, 16GB Ram, 120GB Solid State Sata
Hi all I am new to the Mac World, I have been running, taking to bits and moddlng PC's since the days of Win 3.1 however never touched a Mac until now. I am in to my cycling and snorkelling, not made the move to diving yet, but I wanted a mac to make great final quality edited video. Also my brother in law has a band and I have been doing some work with Garage Band on the iphone and thought it was about time to get the big boy version or equivalent.

Without jumping in feet first and parting with a great deal of cash I decided to see what ebay had to offer, originally I thought I was after a G5 Powermac and was watching these for a while, however a friend of mine who is in office clearance and liquidation stock has asked me if I want 10 G3's and 10 G4's for practically no cash, most reportedly working running 10.4. at present this is all above my head but in time hopefully I will be able to do something with these items,

I have no idea on the specs at present, however tomorrow I will be picking them up and booting them one by one to see what I actually have. in the members of this forums opinion, is a G4 somewhere worth starting from and building an understanding of MAC systems, or is it better to just re-sell the items on ebay for working units and spare individual parts?

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD
I went ahead and started a new thread for you, since you're looking for some detailed advice and the "New Members" thread is more about introducing yourself.