Time Machine rejects Samba Share

Reaction score
I am new to Macs and I have a brand new Mac Mini now. We use many Windows machines to connect to a Linux server's samba share. The new Mac 'sees' the Samba share all right. But refuses to use this share for Time machine backup. It also doesn't like a common external harddrive for backup which it wants to format.

My Linux server - I agree is getting long in the tooth - it runs Fedora Core 11 and another Linux server runs Centos 5.5. All the help available on the Net point to installing netatalk service in the Linux which I did. But no joy.

I would be grateful for any insight.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini i5 (2014 High Sierra), iPhone X, Apple Watch, iPad Pro 12.9, AppleTV (4)
If you're drive doesn't support Time Machine (which it won't in this circumstance), you can't set it up without formatting . . . . unless . . . . you change the flag to allow unsupported drives and manually create the sparsebundle

Further info here

That said, as you want a backup to be easy, reliable and accessible a directly connected, dedicated HD might be a better solution

OP
N
Reaction score
Thanks mrplow. I tried all tricks as mentioned but still it doesn't budge. I even shrunk my external hard drive to allocate space for Mac's Disk Utility to format. Even this is refused by Mac as it cribs that it is a MBR partition. At the end of the day, I am resigned to buying another external hard drive. I am not making any comparisons here - but I have had Windows and Linux computers co-existing together for years and one Mac refuses to accept other entities.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini i5 (2014 High Sierra), iPhone X, Apple Watch, iPad Pro 12.9, AppleTV (4)