Upgrading Mac Mini to Mac Pro... Thoughts??

Reaction score
Hey all

I am running a Mac Mini server Mid 2011 with 2ghz Quad core I7 with 16gb ram and 2 x 500gb 7200rpm HDD's... I am a music producer and i am starting to find that using Ableton 8 and logic once i start adding a few heavy VST's into the mix that the CPU starts effecting the audio...

First question... is there any use in upgrading this mac mini any further and if so what would be recommended I have thought about putting a SSD drive in as the main OSX drive but not sure if this will help me achieve what i want...

Second question... Would i benefit from upgrading to a mac pro?? I have seen some on ebay lately around the 3.1 mark and higher with 2 x 2.8ghz quad core xeon CPU and of course the newer ones have better specs...

So im wondering upgrade to a Mac Pro or stay with the Mac Mini and upgrade that (if there is anything else i can do to it that is)

muchly appreciate any help with this issue

thanks

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
21" iMac 2.9Ghz 16GB RAM - 10.11.3, iPhone6s & iPad Air 2 - iOS 9.2.1, ATV 4Th Gen tvOS, ATV3
Im not going to go too deep into the why's, but you have mentioned the MacPro and if you have the $ i say go for it.
Will it benefit you more than the Mini ?? Yes.
Will you be able to do more with the MacPro ?? Yes.
Will you be able to upgrade the MacPro from where it is ?? Yes
Will getting the MacPro future proof you and give you better performance from those high CPU intensive tasks, that will only get higher and higher as the months/years go buy ?? Yes
You already have the Monitor ?? Yes
Will you feel on top of the world having the power of the MacPro under you ?? Yes
Will there be any benefit in putting a SSD in the MacMini ?? Negligible

So in short, if you have the money, buy the MacPro and then go about your business, and be happy in the thought, that however heavy the VST's are, the MacPro will just plod along non the wiser :)