Dual Monitors

Reaction score
Hi,
I am brand new to Apple products, my knowledge with Macs is limited, and the issue I encounter is I don’t really know the correct question to ask pertaining to Macs or Apple products. I don’t expect anyone to try and read my mind or anything like that to try and figure this out. So I will try to be as descriptive as possible, so my apologies precede this long dissertation of a question.
We have a Mac desktop. OS Mountain Lion 10, my wife uses it for work, and I have set up a second monitor to it. The second monitor is a Dell flat screen. I was able to make them work; meaning I can see and move my mouse from desktop to desktop with no problems .The second monitor is only going to be used as a document viewer, so she can have the document open while she works on the program on the Mac.
The issue we are experiencing is this, she can open a program on the main monitor (Mac) and it’s fine. She then will open documents on the Mac and it opens fine, but when trying to move the document to the second monitor just to have them up for review while having the program up on the Mac, it will not move from the Mac screen at all. I have tried changing the display configs, Primary and secondary etc. and no luck. Not sure what else to try, so any direction would be greatly appreciated.

Reaction score
Is it one particular program or all programs? Also, have you tried the settings where you can assign where monitor is located?
Top Menu/Apple/System Preferences/Displays/Arrangement

OP
B
Reaction score
I have tried the display arrangements as well but no luck and it is all programs.

Reaction score
one more quick question, which monitor has the higher resolution? The main monitor or the dell? Also, is the dell positioned horizontal or vertically?

Reaction score
and might want to try this in the meantime, if you haven't already, you can move the top menu bar over to the second monitor, making it your default screen.