Audiobooks from CD

von

Reaction score
Thanks in advance. I'm new to iTunes but when I download and audiobook, all the chapters go in my music directory as opposed to audiobooks. How can I change this?

Thanks again
von

bobtomay

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
You download an audiobook from where?
And add it to iTunes how?

edit:
And I am "assuming" this downloaded book is a mp3 file?

OP
V

von

Reaction score
Audiobook

I purchased an audiobook on CD. I placed the CD in my computer CD drive and copied it into iTunes. It copied the various chapters into my music directory but I would like the files to go into the Audiobook directory in iTunes

Thankvon

Slydude

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
M1 MacMini 16 GB - Ventura, iPhone 14 Pro Max, 2015 iMac 16 GB Monterey
Try the following and I think this should cure things. I am not sure the last step is necessary but it works for me.

1. With iTunes open select the audiobook files and select Get Info from the iTunes File menu (Command I). When told you are selecting multiple items choose OK.
2. Go to the Info tab of the next window and set Genre to Audiobook,
3. In the Option tab set the Media Kind field to Audiobook.

I am not sure it is necessary to set both fields to Audiobook but it seems to work more reliably for me if I do that. It does not seem to stick till I make the last change.

OP
V

von

Reaction score
Thanks. Actually the Genre was already set to Spoken & Audio. When I set genre to Audiobook under the Option tab--that did the trick. Thanks very much

bobtomay

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
iTunes has no way of knowing in that case whether the tracks are music or a book - you have to tell it.