Need a push in the right direction

Reaction score
I am an aspiring iPhone app developer, as if you haven't heard this plenty of times. I am here to ask where I should continue my learning next.

To help you answer my questions, I should probably give you a little background first.

I came up with an idea for an app in January and have since bought 4 books on Objective-C and iOS programming. The books I purchased: "Programming in Objective-C 5th Edition - Stephen Kochan", "iOS Programming: The Big Nerd Ranch Guide 3rd Edition - Hillegass", "The Core iOS 6 Developer's Cookbook - Erica Sadun", and also " The Advanced iOS 6 Developer's Cookbook - Erica Sadun".

In January before I began my path to learning to make iPhone apps, I had no prior coding experience and planned to learn Objective-C as my first programming language. I have since read the Programming in Objective-C 5th Edition book and I now know and understand the basics and syntax of Objective-C programming. However, I still feel as though I am no where close to where I need to be as far as having the know-how knowledge to create the app I want.

The app I am looking to create would require user registry/log-in, as well as, being able to upload various data such as audio/video/image. I am stuck currently not knowing where to go from here. If someone could point me in the right direction, such as listing some frameworks to look into in order to implement the aforementioned features.

Although I feel I've passed the first big hurdle in programming by grasping the concepts and embracing the syntax and Objective-C language, I still feel as if I am lost. I guess I am just overwhelmed at all of the things it takes in order to create apps.

Thanks for taking the time to read this and any help is greatly appreciated!

Raz0rEdge

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2022 Mac Studio M1 Max, 2023 M2 MBA