Fat Truecrypt Volume on External Drive formatted Mac OS

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 15" 2.6GHz i7 16GB 1T; Mini (late 2012) 2.3GHz i7 16GB 1TB; iPhone 5; iPad 3; AppleTV2
I'm still relatively new to Mac and and very new to Truecrypt - and not understanding why when I create a new Truecrypt container file on my external USB drive (formatted Mac OS Extended) I'm given the option of formatting TC as FAT. Does this mean that in the overall Mac OS Extended drive there will be this small piece of space (TC) that will be formatted FAT?

If I do this v. formatting TC for Mac OS will I be able to connect the external drive to a windows computer and mount the TC volume for read/write?

Is there any disadvantage to formatting TC as FAT from a Mac performance/compatibility perspective?

Either way, I will be keeping the TC containers relatively small (probably under 250MB, if this is relevant to the question about performance.

thanks

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Performa 6116 2GBSCSI 8MB OS 7.5.3
FAT will give you read/write from both OSes = True

External USB drive formatted HFS+ will not be readable for Windows so it doesn't matter what the TC image file is, the drive itself won't be readable by Windows.

Disadvantages for FAT are 4GB file size limits, but since you are creating several 250MB images, (which I personally don't understand) you won't need worry of that limit.

You could partition the the drive with a FAT and HFS+ partition and just encrypt both partitions and be done. You'd have to use the Mac to move stuff to the FAT for Windows, or just deal with the FAT 4GB limit and do the who drive FAT and encrypt it.

OP
N
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 15" 2.6GHz i7 16GB 1T; Mini (late 2012) 2.3GHz i7 16GB 1TB; iPhone 5; iPad 3; AppleTV2
External USB drive formatted HFS+ will not be readable for Windows so it doesn't matter what the TC image file is, the drive itself won't be readable by Windows.