OSX Upgrade

Reaction score
Hi guys and gals,

I'm a newb and I don't know a whole lot. I have an older iMAC with OSX 10.4.11 I love it! It has never crashed and it works fast. I use it for email, web forums, photobucket, Ebay purchasing/pay-pal with an occasional you tube video or other videos like SNL and Southpark etc...

A while back I upgraded to the latest version of Firefox and it was incompatible with the older OS I have so I ended up going back to an older version of Firefox so I could function but recently the forums I belong to have upgraded their software to be more mobile phone friendly and photbucket is getting ready to do the same and I'm getting a lot of error messages and the older Firefox I run won't play certain media.

I want to upgrade my OS but I don't know if Snow Leopard is good enough or if I should get Lion, and also, if I do upgrade, I can install it so I keep all my bookmarks and passwords right?

Specs:
Model Name: iMac
Model Identifier: iMac4,1
Processor Name: Intel Core Duo
Processor Speed: 2 GHz
Number Of Processors: 1
Total Number Of Cores: 2
L2 Cache (per processor): 2 MB
Memory: 512 MB
Bus Speed: 667 MHz
Boot ROM Version: IM41.0055.B08
SMC Version: 1.1f5

Thanks for any advice. :)

Dave

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
I want to upgrade my OS but I don't know if Snow Leopard is good enough or if I should getl Lion

With your computer you can upgrade to Snow Leopard (OS 10.6)...but you can not go any further. For Lion (OS 10.7) your computer needs a Core 2 Duo cpu (your computer only has a core duo).

HTH,

- Nick

Slydude

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
M1 MacMini 16 GB - Ventura, iPhone 14 Pro Max, 2015 iMac 16 GB Monterey