System Hanging After New SSD Install

Reaction score
Hello all!

This is my first time posting here. Long time Mac user.

I have a Macbook Pro 2.33 GHz Core 2 Duo (Model A1211). I just recently swapped out the original HD to a Verbatim 128GB SSD. The speed increase is noticeable, but now the system completely hangs probably five to ten times per day, for about 30 seconds at a time.

Basically, what I did was plug in the new SSD externally, use Disk Utility to erase and format it as OS X Journaled and clone my old HD to it, then I booted from it to test that it worked, then installed it. Everything seems fine except for the system hangs. I've noticed they happen more when the system is busier, however they literally never happened before I installed the SSD. I used to get a hung app, obviously, like everyone else gets, but never a a complete system hang.

Would it help for me to use the system install CD to "repair" the OS? I really don't want to have to reinstall the OS and migrate all my data from Time Machine.

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance,

steiney

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
G'day and welcome to the forums.

For what it is worth OWC technicians strongly recommend not cloning a platter disk drive to a SSD because of such problems. Best way is usually the clean install method and Migration Assistant things across. You might try the Verbatim web site. Sometimes manufacturers release their own cloning software however this is usually for Windowsd.

OP
S
Reaction score
Thanks for the reply! I took a look on the Verbatim website but didn't see anything helpful.

So what's the possibility that letting the install CD repair the operating system is a viable option?

Slydude

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
M1 MacMini 16 GB - Ventura, iPhone 14 Pro Max, 2015 iMac 16 GB Monterey