unix executable file

Reaction score
hello
im new to Macs and have been trying to open a small video file from an old memory stick that i wish to work on in i movies. the problem is that it is a 'unix executable file' (like i know what the **** that is) to make matters worse the portable hard drive that it is contained on seems to somehow be locked as it will not allow me to delete or re name anything on it. Any ideas would be GREATLY appreciated
thank you
confused.com

Raz0rEdge

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2022 Mac Studio M1 Max, 2023 M2 MBA
Welcome to Mac-Forums

Can you tell us what extension is on this file?

Before suggesting my next idea, make sure you have a nice backup of your system just in case..:)

Open up the terminal and go to the memory stick (usually under /Volumes) and then do
Code:
ls -l

This will show you the contents of the stick. Find the file you are interested in and see if for permissions you see rwxr-xr-x or something like that. Now do a "file <filename>" and see what it says, and for grins you can try "./<filename>" and see if it does anything or just balks at you..

OP
J
Reaction score
thanks for the reply, sorry to seem thick, what do you mean by 'what extension is on the file'

OP
J
Reaction score
just found a box that says 'name and extension' but this simplt has a personal name for the file

Raz0rEdge

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Once you do the "ls -l" command, you can see the name of the file and it might be something like "filename.bin"..the BIN is the extension means it's an executable BINary..

OP
J
Reaction score
Welcome to Mac-Forums

Can you tell us what extension is on this file?

Before suggesting my next idea, make sure you have a nice backup of your system just in case..:)

Open up the terminal and go to the memory stick (usually under /Volumes) and then do
Code:
ls -l