HELP - Driver Needed?

Reaction score
Hello, I'm new to Mac. I have a 13 inch MacBook Pro with os x 10.7.5. I am used to "plug and play" with pc. I have a Sharp camcorder, model VL-NZ100, that my old XP would recognize.

I went and bought a Firewire 800 9-pin to 4-pin cable, plugging one end into the MBP and the other into the DV port of the camcorder. However, the computer didn't acknowledge, let alone recognize, the camcorder. For kicks, I uses a USB to hook the camcorder to the MBP, and the MBP recognized the camcorder's photographs (but not the video).

It appears I need a driver, but my search of the net didn't come up with anything. So, I'm turning to you experts at mac-forums.

How do I get videos from the camcorder to the MBP?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2019 iMac 27"; 2020 M1 MacBook Air; macOS up-to-date... always.
Most likely you'll need 3rd party software. Apple's iMovie should do the trick. In fact, someone in this thread specifically mentions that iMovie works with that model camera. If your Mac didn't come with iMovie, then you can buy it off the Mac App Store.

OP
T
Reaction score
Most likely you'll need 3rd party software. Apple's iMovie should do the trick.

I have iMovie on the MBP. I attached the camera via firewire, but iMovie didn't "see" the camcorder. It's the same as Finder: the computer doesn't acknowledge or see the camcorder is attached.

In fact, someone in this thread specifically mentions that iMovie works with that model camera.

I saw that thread, but unfortunately it's 9 years old. That thread deals with a Powerbook G4, which has the driver for the camcorder. I think my MBP doesn't have that driver.

My sister has an older iMac (a desktop) that recognizes the camera. Can I somehow take the driver off of that computer and install it in my MBP?

Thanks

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
late 2012 mini w/SSD
Have you tried your MBP with any other firewire device?
Sounds like a problem specific to your MBP - Not a driver issue.

OP
T