VNC through a ts-Gateway

Reaction score
I was recently granted permission at my office to have a new iMac for work. I'm thrilled and got it all set up. As a developer I frequently work from home in the evenings or weekends. To do this in the past I have used RDP through the ts-gateway. I usually use the iTap RDP app for this and it works great. The RDP server from apple is $80 and I'd rather not buy that if I don't have to. So this brings me to my questions.

Can I use the native NVC tunneled through the TS-Gateway that the company has set up?

If so, how do I configure my client, or what client should I use?

If not, is there an alternative / cheaper route to RDP on mac than the apple solution? My company isn't going to buy this for me.

I've been surprised how little discussion there is on RDP / NVC / gateway. I would think this would be a frequent problem these days.

Thanks,
Mark

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini Core i7 2012 | White 2009 MacBook 2 Ghz | 733 Mhz G4 Quicksilver
RDP is a Microsoft technology, where-in nowadays most people are using VNC because it is more open

You would have to find out if your company has the ports needed for VNC, or even VPN open on their system

OP
M
Reaction score
No they don't. The network is pretty closed off and because of federal requirements ts-gateway is the only way into the building. TS-gateway is mainly just a secure proxy so I feel like this should be possible but this is my area of expertise.

OP
M
Reaction score
CoRD is a client app. I need a remote desktop server running on the iMac. And actually I like iTap a bit better, although I used Cord for a few years until recently.

OP
M
Reaction score
OK, I'm slowly coming around to the fact that Remote Desktop sometimes means RDP and sometimes means VNC. That's very confusing since they're different standards. Tell me if I've got this:

1. MAC only uses VNC as it's Unix based and RDP is a windows only protocol.