An MBP, an Ipad, 1 Router Wireless Question

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iPad Pro 9.7" IOS 10.2.1, 2015 MBP 16gb 1tb OSX 10.12.3
I keep coming up with all these questions to worry myself. I have an Ipad 4 that has no network connectivity problems. I have ordered an MBP that is scheduled for delivery on friday. I am not technical at all but based upon some things I have read, i looked at the setttings on my router and I see mode = b, g and no option for n. The specs for the MBP I have ordered say Wireless - 802.11 n. this means its not going to work under my current setup doesnt it?
I now wonder if I can get a new router from Centurylink that will work for 802.11 b, g, n so my ipad and MBP can work off same router. I have already called them but at that time, before ordering the MBP, all I knew to ask was if my current router would have any known problems connecting. They said wait till I got it.

Sorry for so many goofy questions, a newbie for you I guess.

dtravis7

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
Your new MBP will connect to B and G just fine.

N is faster but with typical DSL, G will be more than fast enough.

OP
MacWannabeNTX
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Thank you for having patience with me, i know you helped me with another question yesterday. And right now i dont even care how fast it is, I just want it to connect! And it appeared I had bought the wrong Mac.

C

chas_m

I would recommend upgrading your wireless router to an "n" compatible one at your first opportunity, even though the B/G one you have will do the job. The speed difference is noticeable, particularly when passing things around the local network.

The Apple Airport Express I finally treated myself to almost instantly became my favourite router of all time five minutes after I set it up, and it's been rock solid and perfect ever since. It's worth the extra money IMO.

OP
MacWannabeNTX