G5 Power PC problems, please help!!

Reaction score
Hi there, my brother has given me an old MAC as he isnt using it anymore. I am new to macs and dont really no what i am doing on them. I have tried to install a number of programs, Steam, Utorrent, origin etc as i use them reguarly for the PC but it wont run them and says that my OSX is not compatable. I have done some research and have found the following out about the mac i have:

Its a mac powerpc G5 tower version
It has OSX 10.4.11 installed which i think is tiger.

Now all i want to do is install utorrent, and update the version of the operating system. I have a dmg file for this purpose and it is "leopard" which i think is next after tiger. My new mac has no cd drive so i cant use cds so have put the .dmg file onto a memory stick and was hoping i could boot off this.

So, is this possible? And what else do i need to do to get utorrent and steam running etc?

Thanks in advance

Nick

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
Do you have a Mac OS "Leopard" install DVD?

OP
L
Reaction score
No not anymore,, my brother just gave me this dmg file on a usb stick
..as the mac has no dvd/cd drawer

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
No not anymore,, my brother just gave me this dmg file on a usb stick
..as the mac has no dvd/cd drawer

Thanks for the info...and yes...I realized from the 1st post that the computer has no optical drive.:)

Technically speaking...you are supposed to own your own version of the OS you are trying to install (original DVD disk). Since this .dmg file came from a brother's DVD...we may be in a "gray-area". Typically we do not allow discussions of this type on Mac-Forums if it appears someone is trying to install an OS without an original disk(s).