Time Machine and backing up

Reaction score
HI Everyone,

I am a newbie on the forum and almost a complete novice with my iMac, so forgive the stupid question.

Originally I found my old WD 'My Passport' and wondered if I could use it to back up my iMac. However, having read the 'help' page I realise that I can't, so fine I will dispose of it.

However, despite reading a very long and interesting thread about backups, I am afraid I still don't understand and nor can I understand the information in the 'help' page about Time Machine.

I realise now that Time Machine hasn't been turned on and therefore I haven't been backing up :'(. I do have a iCloud account and having had a look at that I think that most things are probably stored in that? although I could be wrong with that one:Oops:

BUT as a budding photographer and I don't store my images in Photo Stream (should I?) I don't think they are backed up, which now worries me.

So a couple of questions if I may please:

1. Can I use Time Machine to back up to another 'virtual' storage system?
2. Or do I have to buy a Time Capsule (which I am a bit worried about as I found an article in 2009 which said a lot of them stopped working less than 2 years old and I can't afford to spend that sort of money for it just to break and worse I wouldn't know what to do:'().

I would be really grateful if any suggestions/answers were outlined as simply as possible, as I am really new to all of this but am trying:D)

Many thanks in advance.

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD
You can use the WD Passport drive as a Time Machine backup, or any other external hard drive. It does not have to be a 'Time Capsule' nor anything special or proprietary to Apple.