New member to the Apple World

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I am new to the apple world and My Fiancee and I had just picked up a 12inch iBook G4 and a iMac 17'' Duo yesterday. We have always had Windows and this would be our first Mac computers. Loving it so far, only thing is that on the iBook G4, we notice a dot on the screen which seems maybe a dead pixel. Kind of sucks cause its brand new, my fiancee was playing with it and now wants to Order the Powerbook Intel Duo. Since there is something wrong with the iBook, would they let us exchange it for the New Powerbook thats coming out in Feb? or would we have to pay the restocking fee?

Thank you in advance for any feedback.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iBook
Well you should first bring it back to the store, i bet they could let you change in the ibook for a powerbook. what do you mean the powerbook dual intel? in FEB? where did u get this? the only intel laptop out now is the macbook pro

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Powerbook G4/ 15.2"/ 1.67 ghz/ 2 gb RAM/ ATI Mobility Radeon 9700 (128 mb RAM)/ 100 gb hdd@ 5400 RPM
macAttack said:
Well you should first bring it back to the store, i bet they could let you change in the ibook for a powerbook. what do you mean the powerbook dual intel? in FEB? where did u get this? the only intel laptop out now is the macbook pro

The PowerBook is being phased out, it's all about the MacBook now.

As for your concerns, eh, I'd personally stick with a PowerBook if you're going to trade up. Not only does it include FireWire 800 and a modem (they may be needed in certain cirumstances), but there are few Intel-native apps, which could mean slow-down from Rosetta. Granted, if all you do is web browsing and Word, it's not much, but if you use alot of processor intensive apps (Photoshop, Final Cut) it'll be a bit of a slow-down.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacbookPro 15.4, 2.2ghz i7 (Late 2011), Macbook 1,1 1.83ghz CoreDuo