Macbook Internal Mic Not Working!

Reaction score
So, I recently purchased an early 2008 white Macbook from eBay. I'm really happy with it, it all runs smoothly and it is in great condition. However, when I tried to Skype with my family, they couldn't hear me. So I went through all the system preferences for sound, speech, MIDI setup in utilities, PRAM and SMC resets, to no avail. After e-mailing the person I purchased it from, they informed me that they have never used the microphone so they had no idea if it was working or not before they sent it to me.

After finding various posts on different forums which have been left unanswered to a similar problem, I'm at a loose end. I'm not a huge techie and especially new to macs so I can't identify if it would be a hardware/software issue.

So here I was hoping to get some further suggestions or help. I've tried using a basic earphone/microphone that works with my iPhone but won't work on here. When I slide the input volume control on system sound settings, it appears to, briefly, light up some of the volume blocks, but it won't pick up any of the sound that I make. Also, when I tap next to the mic or to the left of the trackpad, it seems to also create some movement, but still nothing as to responding to my voice...not quite sure what this means but could be helpful information.

I have a 2.1GHz intel core 2 duo, 4GB ram, os x 10.7.

Please let me know if you need any more info and I will be extremely grateful for any information and or suggestions you may have :Confused:

OP
J
Reaction score
No suggestions at all?

My phone headphones with mic (no official Apple headphones) that work with my iPhone won't even work and I've tried both the input and headphones plugs.

Really don't know what else to try or where to go next. Would a USB mic work?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
09 MBP 8GB ram 500GB HD OS 10.9 32B iPad 4 32GB iPhone 5 iOs7 2TB TC Apple TV3