What Cables/Adapters needed to connect to HDTV?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2013 (late year) 15.4" MacBook Pro
Hi,

I would appreciate finding out what is necessary in terms of cables/adapters in order to get audio/video from my Macbook Pro notebook to my HDTV. I have a exercise/yoga subscription online that I would like to stream on my HDTV. I thought it might just take a MDP to HDMI adapter but the more I read, the more confused I get as to getting sound through one cable.

My limited understanding is that my model (2009 Model 5,5) does not support audio via the Mini Display Port to HDMI adapter and that I will require either a 3.5 mm jack to RCA or some other cable in order to get sound. Is this true? Do I even have a Mini Display Port (is this the same thing as Thunderbolt?).

I sincerely appreciate the experience of the members of this site and I apologize in advance for any ignorance expressed above. Thanks so much! Hugo

bobtomay

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
Need your TV make and model to advise the proper cables.

OP
H
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Need your TV make and model to advise the proper cables.

Hi bobtomay,

Thank you for your response.

I have a Toshiba Regza 42RV530U (2008 production).

I purchased a mini adapter to HDMI, an HDMI cable, and a 3.5 mm jack to RCA. I cannot get any sound using the audio inputs so I connected the audio to my receiver and I get sound (and video).

I adjusted the audio input on my TV to "PC - Yes", but still no sound when using the audio inputs on the TV or by using a 3.5 mm from the headphone jack on my Mac and the TV. I guess the easiest fix is by going through my surround sound receiver.

Any other ideas? I did find this cable by Cablesson and wonder if it will work?
http://www.cablesson.com/cablesson-mini-displayport-usb-toslink-audio-to-hdmi-adapter.html

What do you think? Thanks, Hugo