Updating to Mountain Lion 10.8

Reaction score
I am fairly new to Apple having been a windows user for many years. My Macbook Pro is a Mid 2012 with OS X Lion 10.7.5. I recently purchased an Apple TV only to find Airplay (Using PC in connection with the TV) will only work effectively with Mountain Lion 10.8. I was disappointed that Apple would not allow me to upgrade free as I bought the machine over 30 days ago but that said I am prepared to pay the £13.99 to upgrade. I have read various reviews from people who have had major problems after upgrading. Can anyone advise whether upgrading is sensible and if so how can I avoid problems with software after updating.

bobtomay

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
For every 1 that had issues there are hundreds if not thousands that had no issues upgrading to 10.8.

App compatibility chart - link.

bobtomay

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
As always - we do recommend you have a backup prior to upgrading the OS.

And of course - no issues except learning how the new OS is different than the old one.

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
I was disappointed that Apple would not allow me to upgrade free as I bought the machine over 30 days ago but that said I am prepared to pay the £13.99 to upgrade.

There is no reason you should have expected to receive a free upgrade to Mountain Lion. 99+% of us had to pay for it...thus you need to as well.;)

Mountain Lion was released in the UK on July 25th, 2012 (same date as in the United States)...and only folks who purchased an Apple computer just before the release of Mountain Lion & just after the release of Mountain Lion (probably about a 30 day period in total) got a free upgrade.