Tips for multiple user accounts

lrd

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2009 MacBook Pro 15" - 2013 iMac 3.4GHz quad-core i7, Fusion Drive, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680MX
I still have a PC in the house that the wife uses. She's not a power user at all but she hates change. I means HATES. I've switched over to a MacBook Pro for 95% of my computing although I still use the PC for some things (such as supporting apps that don't have suitable OS X equivalent like Quicken).

On the PC, she uses Internet Explorer and I use Firefox. The advantage is that we have separate sets of bookmarks and more importantly cookies (We can each go straight to sites like Facebook without having to logout/login).

I'm planning to buy a new iMac soon to replace the PC and will install VM Fusions to keep Windows available. That said, I'm thinking of setting up multiple users on the new machine, but I've never done that before. I'm not worried so much about the mechanics but the subtleties. I'm looking for gotcha's or specific things that would be helpful to know before setting this up (I may decide not to if the gains aren't worth it).

Other random thoughts:
  • My wife currently has nothing Apple so she doesn't have an Apple ID. Is this important?
  • If I buy an app from the Mac Store, is it automatically available to all users?
  • If we both use Safari under separate accounts, can I safely assume that each would have separate cookies, bookmarks etc...
  • Are there reasons why separate user accounts would be a Bad idea?

RavingMac

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
16Gb Mac Mini 2018, 15" MacBook Pro 2012 1 TB SSD
Other random thoughts:
  • My wife currently has nothing Apple so she doesn't have an Apple ID. Is this important?
  • If I buy an app from the Mac Store, is it automatically available to all users?
  • If we both use Safari under separate accounts, can I safely assume that each would have separate cookies, bookmarks etc...