Logo critique please

Reaction score
Hi all,

I've been asked to throw together a logo for a friend of mine.
I'm not a graphic artist per se, but I have, in the past, been known to make logos in my spare time.

I've added the .png file and also the original .psd that I've created so far and I know it's a long way off from being finished at this point, but I would like your opinions so far. :)

Any comments would be welcome. :)

KF r1.png

View attachment KF r1.psd

C

chas_m

Looks nice, should reproduce well in a variety of mediums, can work as a monochrome as well.

Of course at this stage it tells me nothing other than KF ...

OP
Rottie
Reaction score
Looks nice, should reproduce well in a variety of mediums, can work as a monochrome as well.

Of course at this stage it tells me nothing other than KF ...

Hi Chas,

Thanks for the crit, it is appreciated. :)

There is a reason behind it being just initials; basically my friend has his fingers in lot of pies, so to speak, so had asked that the logo be based around his initials, so he could change the company "branding" to suit whichever company he was using it for, IE Accounting, Property Maintenance, etc.

I had already suggested to him that I should append the logo with the single word "group", but he didn't like that too much and said that he would make the changes to the company name in word *shudder*

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac 27" i5 3.1GHz / 1TB HDD / 16GB RAM / Model 12.2 / Mavericks 10.9
My perspective...

Logos in general are best when easily recognised by shape, by colour, or by both. If the shape is simple, and easily recognised, then colour is of less importance. Like the Apple logo: no matter what colour you use, it's still immediately recognised as belonging to the Apple family.

Complex shapes require a distinct, fixed colour palette to distinguish them from all the others. In your case, the shape is rather complex, so changing the colour palette may break the 'brand family' resemblance.